Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means vortex or spinning wheel that refers to different energy centres of our body, which can affect our mental, physical and spiritual energies.

Most people can’t see these energy centres but those who are very intuitive say they can see them in their ‘mind’s eye’.

Each chakra has a specific role to play within different parts of our bodies. When you feel tense and anxious the chakra associated with that part of your body experiences your stress and anxiety.

It is therefore important to understand how your chakras work and keep them all balanced.

The Seven Main Chakras

Root or Muladhara 1st ChakraThe Root or Muladhara Chakra

This is the 1st chakra and is RED in colour.   It is situated at the base of the spine and relates to our survival needs i.e. food, water and our home.

It is connected to the earth and is all about feeling grounded and secure helping us in our daily survival.

This chakra grounds us, rules our physical energies and aids in our everyday survival. It also helps us to make decisions.

The Root chakra controls the blood and immune system, the spine, legs and feet.

When this chakra is balanced we can feel our energy flowing freely through it.  We feel secure, stable and confident in doing our daily tasks.  However when it is not balanced we feel tension, disconnected with low self-esteem.

Stones – Red Jasper, Garnet

Swadhisthana or Sacrum 2nd Chakra


The Sacral or Swadhisthana

This is the 2nd chakra and is ORANGE in colour.  It is situated near your navel and is connected with creativity and rebirth not only with a new baby but also with new beginnings, ideas and projects.

The Sacral chakra controls the reproductive organs, skin and kidneys.

When this chakra is balanced we develop ourselves successfully and have a good bonding family relationship.  However, when it is unbalanced or blocked, it could cause skin rashes such as acne, reproductive problems and emotional instability.

This is the chakra where many of us would store our unresolved emotions that perhaps have not been dealt with in the past.

If appropriate, I give special attention to this area during individual Reiki healing sessions.

Stones – Amber, Orange Calcite

Solar Plexus or Manipura 3rd Chakra


The Solar Plexus or Manipura Chakra

This is the 3rd chakra and is YELLOW in colour.  It is situated a couple of inches above your navel and under your rib cage.  It is connected to our personal inner power and self worth.

It is connected to our liver, spleen, stomach and small intestine.

When this chakra is balanced we can feel our energy flowing freely through this centre.  However, when blocked we can feel frustrated, have digestive problems and low self-esteem.

Stones – Golden Yellow Apatite, Citrine


The Heart or Anahata Chakra

Heart or Anahata 4th ChakraThis is the 4th chakra and is GREEN in colour. It is found in the middle of your chest and is considered to be the bridge between the lower 3 chakras (earth) and the upper 3 chakras (spirit).

It is associated with the heart, breasts, endocrine and thymus glands.

When balanced love and compassion can flow freely however, when it is out of balance there could be feelings of being unloved, jealousy, loneliness, also allergies and heart disease.

Stones – Rose Quartz, Jade



The Throat or Vishuddha Chakra

This is the 5th Chakra and is BLUE in colour and is locatedThroat or Vishuddha 5th Chakra in the throat.

It is all to do with communication and self-expression and is connected to the throat, lungs and ears.

When it is balanced we are able to communicate and express ourselves much more clearly. However, when it is blocked we may feel anxious as to how others may react to our views and communication. We could have problems with hearing, and sore throats.

Stone – Blue Turquise or Blue Calcite




The Third-Eye or Ajna Chakra

This is the 6th chakra and is INDIGO in colour.  It is also known as the ‘brow chakra’ or ‘third eye’ and is3rd Eye or Anja 6th Chakra located in the middle of your forehead. It is associated with your intuition and is the centre of our insight.

Connected to the eyes, forehead and sinuses.

When balanced and open we feel we can connect to our intuitive abilities and connect more easily to our spiritual guides.  When blocked it can cause migraines, sinus problems, and unable to trust our intuition, have self-doubts and mis-trusts.

Stones – Azurite or Lapis Luzuli



The Crown or Sahasrara Chakra

This is the 7th chakra and is VIOLET in colour. It is located at the top of your head.Crown or Sahasrara 7th Chakra

It is associated with your brain and relates to spiritual awareness.

When it is out of balance you could suffer with headaches, unable to concentrate and feelings of depression with little or no regard for other people.

 Stones – Amethyst or White Topaz






Blessings, Love & Light


©2013 Peaceful Harmony. All Rights Reserved.